Fayetteville!

In the past month, Kyle and I have traveled from Utah to LA, to Ensenada, Mexico, back to LA and then up to Boise. From there, we went back to Utah, across to Denver, up through Omaha, down to Nauvoo and Carthage, and finally down to Fayetteville, Arkansas. In less than a month, we traveled through or to 10 states, and a good chunk of the USA. We’re happy to finally have a home and not be living out of a suitcase. Now that I’ve caught up on our adventures in the past month, I can write about our experiences in Arkansas. Surprisingly, it has been an easy transition. We have a great apartment, a wonderful ward, new friends, great jobs, and some new experiences to share.

Because of Kyle’s internship with Walmart, we were given a rather amazing apartment to live in. We are living in what is called the “executive suite”. We have two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a great kitchen, living room, laundry room and a balcony. Our apartment also came complete with all the furnishings, basic kitchen supplies, and more TV’s than necessary.While living in this apartment is great, and is not getting me excited to move away, what is even better is that Walmart is also covering the rent.

There is also another addition to our wonderful apartment. Right now I am typing this as our maid is cleaning our apartment. Our maid. As luxurious as it seems to have a maid, I don’t like it. I’m one of those strange people that likes to clean. I find it therapeutic, so having someone else doing that for me is rather strange. Especially when I know that I am fully capable of doing what she is doing, yet I sit on the couch as she cleans around me. One of these days, I’ll probably catch myself cleaning with her.

The day after getting to Fayetteville, Kyle and I went to our new ward and were pleasantly welcomed in with open arms. We appreciated all of the wonderful people who introduced themselves and had us feeling very welcome. We even were greeted by one of the missionaries, Elder Adams, who happened to be one of my younger brother, Andrew’s friends and in my home ward. It was so nice to see a familiar face. Kyle and I also already have a calling and we are very excited. We’ll be sure to fill you in on how it goes after this Sunday…

Out of the 200 interns at Walmart, 20 of them are from BYU, which easily helped us to make some new friends. We hosted a dessert night to meet some of the people, and have since then enjoyed hanging out with them. From soaking at the pool, to drive in movies, games, and bowling, we’ve been enjoying our free time.

So far, Kyle has enjoyed working for Walmart. He’s working the the seafood department, which is kind of funny because he’s actually not that much of a fan of seafood. I’m the real fan. But he really has been thrown in to his job. He’s been working really hard, and I think that he enjoys doing what he has been studying for the past years. He usually leaves by 6:50 every morning and gets back around 5:15 in the evening. That leaves me time do laundry, make dinner, and all the other housewife sort of things. I’ve also been working long-distance for my job back at BYU with the A.R.T.S. Partnership. My boss has been so nice to let me keep my job and it is definitely keeping me busy. Thank goodness.

Along with all of the wonderful things that have been happening since we have gotten to Fayetteville, there have also been some scary experiences. I’m sure many of you have heard about the giant tornado that ripped through Joplin. That tornado happened only 24 hours after we drove through that same city and also happens to be an hour North of us. We were completely unaware of what had happened until Monday when I watched the news. That tornado’s destruction lead us to finishing up or 72 hour kits and thank goodness we did.

Within 24 hours of us finishing them up, we had a tornado warning for our city. Since we are living on the third floor of our apartment, we were a bit worried that we would be in a dangerous position. Kyle called around asking ward members what they were doing, and thus received the offer to take cover at the Bishop’s house. We took the offer and actually enjoyed the stormy evening while getting to know the bishop and his family. It ended up that the storm coming toward us split and hit areas below us, and above us. We just got an amazing thunderstorm and lots of wind and rain.

With all things taken into account, we are really enjoying our time here. Everyone we’ve met seems really nice, and the area is beautiful. The only thing we don’t like is the humidity. I also don’t like not knowing what direction I’m facing because of the lack of mountains. But despite those little things, we are excited to spend the summer here.

2 thoughts on “Fayetteville!

  1. Yay for all the updates! I love reading about your married life… and go ahead and send that maid my way. And yes, I would probably clean along side her. 🙂 Miss you!

  2. Sounds like you got pretty close to me in St Louis!! How are you liking the humidity and the south? I hate the humidity but love the southern hospitality, fried foods, and BBQ 🙂 If you are in my neck of the woods again you should hollar and we can meet for dinner or something. It has been way too long!

Thoughts?

