Our Last Week

Here I am, sitting on the floor of our almost empty apartment in Fayetteville, and thinking, are we really moving out today? Is it really August 12th? Where did our summer go? Surprisingly, this summer has passed by in a blur of adventures. In just three months, we were able to travel to many of the nearby cities, enjoy lots of local BBQ and entertainment, Kyle learned a grand amount from his internship, I enjoyed my out of the ordinary part-time work summer, and of course we enjoyed getting to know the people. I never thought I would say this, but I am wishing to stay a little longer. I’ve grown to love this area, and the people who I have  met here.

In this last week, between all the packing, we tried to sneak time to enjoy some last-minute adventures in Northwest Arkansas. A good portion of our plans didn’t ever happen because we ended up needing to get our tires replaced, but we enjoyed our time all the same. Monday, we spent the evening watching the Naturals baseball team. The evening was cool and perfect, which has been extremely rare this summer. We also had wonderful thunderstorms rolling in, through the majority of the week. Including one at 3:45 am, that lured me out of bed for a good hour and a half to watch.

Our goodbyes had to include the wonderful people in our ward. We bid farewell to our primary class, and were met by one child’s tearful hug and many “we will miss you.” Precious. We were able to find time to get delicious frozen custard with Stephen and Jessica Spicer. It was so nice to be able to sit back and relax while laughing and swapping stories. We spent one evening swimming with the many of our ward’s interns, the Cox, Stenett, and Renfroe families. It was there that I got the most heartbreaking goodbye.

I’ve written about the Cox family before and their adorable girls. We’ve become very close this summer, between dinners at their house, babysitting, and swimming at the Renfroe’s pool. I think that they are all adorable and I honestly can’t get enough of the girl’s infectious smiles and enthusiastic energy. Most particularly, there was little Alyssa. Anytime we were around, she would hold my hand, sit on my lap or cuddle up next to me. There was even a time when we came into the church chapel a bit late, she turned around and loudly exclaimed “Sister Frederiksen!” Needless to say, she, along with all the girls, have a very special place in my heart. That made leaving all the more hard. As we were saying goodbye, she gave me many hugs and then loudly exclaimed, “I’m going to miss you, so much!” My heart skipped a beat, and I had tears come to my eyes because it was so heartfelt and precious. I’m going to miss her, too.

Now, I must thank everyone that we have had the pleasure to meet this summer. We are so grateful for everything that you have done for us. Thank you for including us, inviting us to dinner, giving us a calling, and making us feel like we are a part of such a wonderful group of people. That being said, it is now time to pack the last of our possessions into our little red Civic and head out on our drive back home. We’ll miss you Arkansas! It’s been a great summer. So, look out Utah! The Frederiksen’s are on our way.

Thoughts?

