Celebrating Life!

A couple weekends ago, my mom’s side of the family gathered together, at my parents house. Though there were some particular things we were celebrating, I prefer to think of it as celebrating life. New life, life as a family, and the life of our mothers.

First, the women of the family celebrated my cousin Taniel and her soon-to-come baby girl with presents, fruit pizzas, and games. We are all so happy for her and her hubby! They are so lucky to have a little one on the way.

20120521-153901.jpg

20120521-153911.jpg

Next, we gathered in the men and children to enjoy our family time. An eventful backyard volleyball match and barbecue then ensued, leaving everyone laughing. (Except Kyle who tore his new BR pants.) Even with that, the evening was beautiful and perfect. The smells and sounds wound together into a breathtaking ephemeral moment I wish I could have captured.

20120521-153930.jpg

Night came and the extended family left, leaving us to settle in for the night. The next morning brought mothers day. A day that is much needed for all mothers to be honored and reminded of how much their hard work and dedication is appreciated.

Both my mom and my mother-in-law especially deserve this day. They are amazing examples of hard work, love, sacrifice and strength. I could go on and on about how amazing they are, but in essence I believe that much of who I am, as well as how Kyle is, stems from our mothers. And for that, we are both eternally grateful. As for me, I can only hope that I become as wonderful as they are.

As for all the other “mothers” in my life, thank you for your example and love. You have also had an impact on my life in so many different ways. From teachers, to friends, to relatives; each woman that I have had the privilege to spend time with will continue to impact me for the rest of my life.

Motherhood is such a sacred and beautiful thing that is often overlooked or downgraded. But the fact is, the world couldn’t function without strong women to bear and raise children. Because of all the shining examples I have, it has become my ultimate goal. Many, many thanks and love to all those women. I hope you had a wonderful mother’s day.

20120521-154008.jpg

Two other celebrations happened on Sunday:

We had the chance to Skype with my younger brother Andrew, from Chile where he is serving as a missionary for the LDS church. He is making a difference in the lives of the people down there and loving every minute if it. His Spanish is excellent and he looks so handsome! He is really growing up. I can’t wait to see him in 7 months.

20120521-153958.jpg

Last but not least, I got news that one of my longest and dearest friends got engaged to the man of her dreams. Congratulations Kelli and Kendall! I love you both.

If that wasn’t a weekend of celebrating life, I don’t know what would be.

Thoughts?

