Arriving at True Adulthood

Though both Kyle and I have been adults for years now, making the transition from college to work life seemed to both of us like the true arrival into adulthood. What I didn’t expect was how difficult it was going to be for me to part ways with my family and move half way across the country. In my journal, I wrote the following, explaining the morning:

“We moved away today. We packed our two cars as full as we could get them, and then knew it was inevitable that we had to leave. I hugged each of my siblings as they left for school, but the hardest goodbyes were to mom and dad. As I hugged mom, I could tell neither of us were ready for the goodbye. We both started to cry. Then as I hugged dad he started, too. However, we had to drive away. Kyle driving his car, and his parent’s in mine. I cried continuously till we reached the Utah/Wyoming border when I fell asleep. Even now, as we are driving to our first stop, I get teary each time I think of my family. I still don’t think I’m ready to grow up.”

20121217-122430.jpg

20121217-122318.jpg

However, as our drive went on, I realized that we needed to make that break. It was time to grow up. We have finished college, we had jobs to support us, and it was time to be fully self reliant. It was also important for us to start relying on each other in a way we hadn’t before. To start our own family.

20121217-122458.jpg

HPIM3051

13 hours later, we arrived in Lincoln, Nebraska to stay the night. We enjoyed conversations with Dellas and Nancy and then drifted off to sleep. Unfortunately, we were up early and in the cars again, driving through cornfields that went on for hours. Finally, we arrived in Minnetonka, Minnesota at our new apartment. We moved the few belongings that we had from our cars and into the apartment and waited for our moving truck to come.

HPIM3061

HPIM3062

When it finally arrived we spent the next five hours hauling all of our belongings into our apartment, only stopping for water breaks and dinner. We were all exhausted as we neared the end, and I kept praying that someone would come ask to help, or we would somehow be able to get a hold of someone in our new ward. But, despite our aching backs and tired arms we unloaded until it was close to midnight.

We collapsed into bed that night and slept soundly. As we awoke, we were met with piles of boxes and a seemingly never ending process of organizing it all. We were so grateful to have Dellas and Nancy there to help us. I don’t think that we would have been half as motivated if we didn’t have their help. But in two days, our apartment was pieced together.

In the times between unpacking and organizing, we took a little time to get acquainted with our new area. We drove down to the Mall of America for dinner and to goggle at the giant shopping center before catching a train to go to a Twins baseball game. It was a great start to our adventures in Minnesota. Unfortunately, the next day Dellas and Nancy had to leave.

20121217-122522.jpg

HPIM3073

HPIM3076

That is where the homesickness crept in again. It was so very different than what I had imagined my life would be like after I graduated. It was quiet and simple, and a little lonely. Until we went to church the next day. We met our new ward members and were happy to get acquainted with many other young couples in our ward. We felt welcomed. We felt loved. And we felt like we had found our home.

Over time, the homesickness has come and gone, but it is usually replaced with the thought, “we are supposed to be here”. That is confirmed by all the other things we have encountered. Kyle is loving his work at Target’s headquarters, and I am enjoying the discount. I am loving working with beautiful dancers at a local studio and high school, and believe that I have the best job in the world. We have made many amazing friends, and love the area we are living. Above all, we have grown closer together, learned to rely on each other, and adjusted to the life after school. And that, I feel, has allowed us to arrive at true adulthood.

Thoughts?

