Birthdays are Better with Family

IMG_0479I lucked out that my family’s visit happened to coincide with my birthday. Having them here was the best birthday present I could ask for! Everything else that went on that day was just a bonus. I opened my door that morning to a load of balloons falling in on me and my whole family singing the Happy Birthday song. Then my wonderful chef-mother made me crepes. It was so nice to be pampered.

The beauty of being the birthday girl is that it allowed me to choose what we did that day. Since my family was still technically “touring” Minnesota, I decided to take them to some of my favorite places in Minneapolis. First, we went downtown to the Guthrie Theater and the Endless Bridge. We enjoyed our walk around and the lookout over the Mississippi river, and then moved on to our next destination.

IMG_0483IMG_0484

At the Minneapolis Institute of Arts, half of our group happily looked at the artwork of masters. Others in our group were less pleased to be there and spent most of their time joking around or lounging on the benches. I will let you guess who was who. But, my awesome parents and I still forced them to look around and tried to educate them a bit about art history. I am not sure if any of it sunk in but it did create a big debate in the family over the question: what is art?

IMG_0487 IMG_0496 IMG_0499 IMG_0503IMG_0556 IMG_0554

When the kids finally convinced us to leave, we drove back downtown to pick up Kyle from work. It took a while to get a hold of him so we decided to walk around in Target while we waited. (We even got a shopping cart to put on the cart escalator to pass the time.) When Kyle finally showed up, he came walking in with a big bouquet. The flowers smelled amazing!

IMG_0509

Our next stop was the Walker Arts Center. In addition to their Sculpture garden, they also have a temporary exhibit that is actually a Mini Golf Course. It isn’t a usual course, though. Each hole has a different set of obstacles. One you had to putt up a tube and into a tilting table which you had to steer. One made noises when you putted into the rocks, and one had a Foosball table in it. My favorite had the other golfers in your group standing in the green, as part of the course. It was a little pricy, but it was well worth it. And we supported the arts, right?

IMG_0511 IMG_0513 IMG_0515 IMG_0517 IMG_0524 IMG_0526 IMG_0534 IMG_0537 IMG_0545

After mini golf, we spent time wandering around the WAC Sculpture Garden. Once again our art debate flared up. Some people in the family were confused by the Spoon Bridge, and other architectural exhibits and didn’t think they were art. I, on the other hand, thought that they did count as art. After arguing back and forth for a while someone mentioned I should win the debate because it was my birthday. I happily agreed and the debate was settled.

IMG_0553 IMG_0558

The last stop of the day was the Mall of America and more specifically, Bubba Gumps! I absolutely love that restaurant so when my siblings suggested we go there, I couldn’t help but to agree. We all loaded ourselves with fish, crabs, and shrimp. And then I got sung to by the Bubba Gumps staff. They said I was getting old… How sweet.

IMG_0551 IMG_0552A birthday is not complete without some dessert. Mom made homemade homemade raspberry ice cream and dark chocolate brownies. Yum! They were amazing. I opened presents (along with all the other exciting and thoughtful presents, my sister gave me Fleur Delacour’s wand from the Wizarding World of Harry Potter! I am such a nerd.) and then we relaxed the rest of the night.  I think you could call that a successful birthday.

Thoughts?

