In the Kitchen

I love being in the kitchen. I always have. My mom is an excellent cook, and she taught me the art of preparing good food when I was young. I have fond memories of learning the ins and outs of a kitchen from my mom. It’s now a skill that I cherish. It is a skill that came in handy when Kyle and I were dating (after all, the best way to a man’s heart is through his stomach). And even created the requirement in our apartment search for a place with a big kitchen. Thankfully, we found a place that allowed me enough space to cook to my heart’s content.

After being away for three weeks on our WashingtonAlaskaUtahIdaho adventures, I was happy to be back in my kitchen and ready to do my own cooking. The food we had eaten while traveling had been delicious, but there is nothing like cooking your own meal to your own specifications. While in Utah, I got the recipe for soft Ginger Molasses Cookies from my mom. After getting home to Minnesota, and catching the feeling of Fall in the air, I whipped up a batch. We gave most of them away to friends but kept a stash for ourselves.

I’ve decided to share some of my favorite things, from time to time. And these cookies are most certainly one of my favorite things. Especially during those cool Autumn nights, curled up with a good book.  Enjoy!

Ginger Molasses Cookies

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ginger
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon cloves
  • 4 cups flour (I added – 1/2 cup more)

Cream together butter and sugars. Add molasses and eggs and cream all together. Fold in dry ingredients and 1 cup flour and mix thoroughly. Add remaining flour, one cup at a time. Chill for 1 hour. Roll dough into 1 inch balls and roll in sugar. Bake at 350 degrees for 8 – 10 minutes. Let sit on pan for 2 minutes before transferring to cooling rack.

4 thoughts on “In the Kitchen

  1. Those look delicious! I have been loving your posts lately. We can’t wait for you guys to come visit. We will have to have some fun in the kitchen together while you are here!

  2. Hello! I’m stopping by from the Friends around the World link-up and I have to say, I just can’t deal with all these pictures of food on your blog. You’re really making me crave cookies and donuts!

    1. Thanks for stopping by! Contrary to what it looks like, we don’t eat sweets that often… But, we did enjoy those. I hope you can satisfy your cravings!

Thoughts?

