Work Hard, Play Hard

20131128-225358.jpgHaving traveled quite a bit in the last few months, my family recently teased me on how my life seems from my Instagram posts and this blog. They said that it appears like all I do is travel, eat good food, and my life is one of ease and exploration. I had a good laugh at that, as it is not the case, but then began to realize that they were right. What I have been posting is just the fun.

Isn’t it strange how social media allows us to peek into other people’s lives, but what is displayed is an edited version of real life? I’ve been thinking about that the last week and feel that I should give a better description of what our life is really like. So, allow me change that perception.

In reality, we both work full time jobs; I’m a dance teacher, and Kyle business analyst. We are also very involved with our church callings, and spend most of our free time doing those menial tasks that all adults have to do (grocery shopping, laundry, cleaning, etc). We really don’t get to spend a lot of time together during the week because we have opposite schedules. I guess that is where the “always playing” perception comes from. Kyle and I just prefer to enjoy our rare free time together by doing something adventurous rather than sitting on a couch. So, be it known, that we work hard, but we also play hard.

Thoughts?

